Preparation for Peru

This week has been insanely busy, I feel like ever since we got back from Journey 2 I haven’t had a break. This is fine of course because I don’t like breaks and not having things to but the pace at which we are moving is somewhat more than I had anticipated. Living in what we consider to be “sleepy historic chestertown” it is easy to adjust to the relaxed slower paced lifestyle that is exemplified by the residents here. All of this week we have focused on Peru. What to expect, what to pack, what we will see, and what we will experience. This week has been so tiring that I almost feel like I have already been. 
The advantage of visiting a foreign country with a school group is that you learn so much more than you would just traveling alone. Granted I am basing this on assumption as I have never traveled outside of the United States but comparing simply world travel to going to the Smithsonian, the school group prevails. I have no idea what to expect, I am anxious and faintly excited at the same time. I am not sure if it is my nerves about leaving home or my hesitation to beyond my comfort zone but I am finding myself less excited than the rest of the group. I know that this is and will be an incredible opportunity and I am by no means going to take it for granted.
This week my mind has been crammed and stuffed what feels like the brim with information about Incan culture and architecture, instantly pictures of the fitted stone walls come into mind. I think I will try to put a credit card in between the stones just to verify that mortar is not necessarily needed when you have such a brilliant design. The trapezoidal windows will remind me of the design to protect the structures against elements of mother nature or as the Incans refer to her. The historical significance and importance of Machu Picchu, the connections of power of the Apus, also will be in mind as we ascend and explore the most famous remaining architectural site of the Incan Empire. 
We have learned about guano in the 1980’s when it production first took off and drove the economy. In Punta San Juan we will be able to see the guano being harvested hopefully and will see humboldt penguins, sea lions and various other species of birds. Other forms of wildlife we will see is anchoveta. We have learned about the Humboldt current and understand the geological and meterological aspects of El Nino. It is clear why the anchoveta are so plentiful off the coast of Peru, and this is due to the upwelling which brings colder nutrient rich water along the coastline. I am looking forward to hiking and taking alot of pictures. I am nervous and excited to experience a different culture and a new world for two weeks. I am grateful for this experience and I am feeling very prepared to go and immerse myself in everything that exemplfies Peru.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

